Excerpt from Chapter One of Frank Engster’s Book: Das Geld als Maß, Mittel und Methode Das Rechnen mit der Identität der Zeit (Berlin: Neofelis Verlag UG, 2014)

Authors

  • Identities Journal for Politics, Gender and Culture Institute of Social Sciences and Humanities - Skopje
  • Frank Engster

DOI:

https://doi.org/10.51151/identities.v18i1-2.488

Keywords:

labour, value, money, capital, critique, Marx, political economy

Abstract

The question of the book is how a radical critique of capitalism is possible when critique in the tradition of Kant and Hegel means that the criticized subject itself has to “give” the measure of its critique. The thesis is that, while in Kant this reflexivity is achieved by transcendental subjectivity and reason and in Hegel by self-consciousness, self-relation of the concept and the absolute reason of spirit, in Marx we find a materialist turn.

The turn shows that capitalist society became reflexive by a kind of self-measurement, done by the functions of money, on the one hand, and the valorization of labour power and capital, on the other. Money, by its function as the measure of value and the means of its realization and mediation, measures in the commodities the productive relations of their production, thus determining from the past valorization of labour and capital the magnitudes necessary for their further productive valorization — and hence for a productive use of money itself. That is how, in money’s capital form, the measured magnitudes become reflexive, while money itself becomes in its capitalist self-relation the form to measure the same valorization process which by this form becomes possible in the first place. The aim of the book is to translate this process into an economy of time, showing that money’s quantification of social relations is nothing else than this translation itself.

Downloads

Published

2021-12-22

How to Cite

Journal for Politics, Gender and Culture, I., & Engster , F. (2021). Excerpt from Chapter One of Frank Engster’s Book: Das Geld als Maß, Mittel und Methode Das Rechnen mit der Identität der Zeit (Berlin: Neofelis Verlag UG, 2014). Identities: Journal for Politics, Gender and Culture, 18(1-2). https://doi.org/10.51151/identities.v18i1-2.488

Most read articles by the same author(s)